My Photo
Name:
Location: Philippines

I want to be a student forever ... but onLy if I receive an aLLowance.



View blog authority
Entredropper










free counters





Locations of visitors to this page


 

Add to Google Reader or Homepage

Add to My AOL

Subscribe in NewsGator Online

Add to netvibes

Subscribe in Bloglines











Your Ad Here








Be Amazed And Rejuvenated this 2010 with KSA Magic...

Never-ending laughs in Nobody Nobody But Juan!

7 - Eleven Panalo'tto!

New Product Offering from Mr. Donut Trinoma

Good Earth reopens in Greenbelt 3 with new look, m...

Toblerone Names President Cory Aquino as its First...

Phoemela Barranda Gets Laud!

2009 Cinema One Originals Film Festival

Do You Take RJ as Your Marriage Guide? I Do or I D...

National Thank You Day





Saturday, January 19, 2008 Tuesday, January 29, 2008 Sunday, February 10, 2008 Monday, February 25, 2008 Friday, March 7, 2008 Tuesday, March 11, 2008 Saturday, April 5, 2008 Tuesday, May 6, 2008 Saturday, May 17, 2008 Thursday, May 22, 2008 Saturday, May 24, 2008 Sunday, May 25, 2008 Monday, October 6, 2008 Thursday, October 9, 2008 Friday, October 10, 2008 Sunday, October 12, 2008 Tuesday, October 14, 2008 Thursday, October 16, 2008 Friday, October 17, 2008 Friday, October 24, 2008 Saturday, October 25, 2008 Tuesday, October 28, 2008 Wednesday, October 29, 2008 Friday, October 31, 2008 Wednesday, November 5, 2008 Thursday, November 13, 2008 Wednesday, November 19, 2008 Friday, November 21, 2008 Tuesday, November 25, 2008 Thursday, December 4, 2008 Tuesday, December 9, 2008 Sunday, December 14, 2008 Thursday, December 18, 2008 Tuesday, December 23, 2008 Wednesday, December 24, 2008 Wednesday, January 7, 2009 Monday, January 12, 2009 Tuesday, January 13, 2009 Thursday, January 15, 2009 Monday, January 19, 2009 Wednesday, January 21, 2009 Thursday, January 22, 2009 Wednesday, January 28, 2009 Friday, February 6, 2009 Saturday, February 14, 2009 Tuesday, February 24, 2009 Friday, February 27, 2009 Thursday, March 12, 2009 Sunday, March 15, 2009 Monday, March 16, 2009 Tuesday, March 17, 2009 Wednesday, March 18, 2009 Thursday, March 19, 2009 Wednesday, March 25, 2009 Thursday, April 2, 2009 Friday, April 3, 2009 Wednesday, April 8, 2009 Thursday, April 9, 2009 Wednesday, April 15, 2009 Monday, April 27, 2009 Wednesday, April 29, 2009 Thursday, April 30, 2009 Wednesday, May 6, 2009 Sunday, May 10, 2009 Friday, May 15, 2009 Monday, May 18, 2009 Monday, June 1, 2009 Sunday, June 14, 2009 Saturday, June 27, 2009 Tuesday, July 7, 2009 Tuesday, July 21, 2009 Friday, July 24, 2009 Tuesday, August 4, 2009 Thursday, August 20, 2009 Sunday, August 23, 2009 Tuesday, September 1, 2009 Sunday, September 6, 2009 Wednesday, September 23, 2009 Thursday, October 1, 2009 Sunday, October 4, 2009 Saturday, October 17, 2009 Sunday, October 18, 2009 Monday, October 19, 2009 Tuesday, October 20, 2009 Monday, November 9, 2009 Sunday, November 15, 2009 Thursday, November 19, 2009 Monday, November 23, 2009 Thursday, November 26, 2009 Wednesday, December 2, 2009 Saturday, December 5, 2009 Sunday, December 13, 2009 Thursday, January 14, 2010





Adaphobic
Ang Sa Wari Ko
All About Life
April Heart
Being Myself
Budget Shopping Galore
Dear Me
Did You Know That!
Discovering Pinas
Doodles are artworks, right?
Earthlingorgeous
Eat. Drink. Dance. (Reapeat)
Empowered Mom
Enjoy Life To The Fullest
Epistaxis
Filipina Writes The Best Pinay Blog Ever
Flipflopping My Way Around Town
Foodie Station
Hiraya: Endless Story
Hot News Alert
Just Jhosel
Just The Tip Of The Iceberg
Kitchen Recipes by Chelle
Lagawan
Let's Talk Your Head Off
Life on a Pencil
Living The Expat's Life
Lizzieness
McShutterLovin
Mekinudolsoup
Memoirs of a Pinay in America
Music Picks
Musings of a Vicks Inhaling Man
My Gossip Girl
Pinay Ads
Phillipine Travel Promos
Places, People, Events, Good Food And My Life
Random Thoughts
Samantha's Own
Shed Life
Simply ME
Stardust
Style and Relax
The Accidental Teacher Meets The Daydream Believer
The Buzz Today
The Life of a Breadwinner
The Trixie Ison Blog
Timawa
World Buzz Today






Blogger

Finalsense

Google

Yahoo






My BlogCatalog BlogRank
Join Pinay Bloggers' Forum
blogarama - the blog directory
Pinoy Bloggers Society (PBS) PinoyBlogoSphere.com
Travel & Leisure - Top Blogs Philippines
Pinoy-Blogs.com
Philippines Blog Directory
Travel Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Travel Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Join My Community at MyBloglog!




Plurk.com

Your Ad Here



Baguio City - "summer capital" of the Philippines

Tuesday, October 14, 2008
Who wouldn’t want to go to Baguio on a romantic weekend trip?

Situated amidst the mountainous region of Cordillera, 1,500 meters above the sea, 250 kilometers north of Manila, Baguio City is one of the few place in the Philippines blessed with a cool climate. On average, Baguio is at least eight degrees cooler than any place in the lowlands. Not surprisingly, Baguio has become the "summer capital" of the country. It is gifted with a variety of cultural, historical and scenic attractions which make it an important and interesting destination. As early as March, tourists and locals take the six-hour trek up the zigzagging Kennon Road. Within a mile of the city, the sweet scent of pine trees and flowers already permeate the air.

Artists are particularly drawn to this serene city. The annual Baguio Arts Festival attracts aspiring painters and sculptors from all over country. Writers convene in Baguio to meet and recharge.

However, Baguio wasn't always a place of peace and leisure. In the early 19th century, the Spaniards stumbled upon this ore-rich valley - and fought feverishly with the local tribes to gain control of the land's bounties. While the Spaniards succeeded in founding some form of governance in the area, the mountain tribes proved too difficult to rule. Thus, the Spaniards parceled out the province to the landed gentry.

It was the Americans, perhaps longing for colder climates who saw the vast recreational potential of Baguio. After building Camp John Hay, the Americans proceeded to carve Kennon Road from out of the mountain - and linked Baguio to Manila - and eventually to visitors of all creeds and races.




Kennon Road (Rosario)


If you only have a day to spend in Baguio, start your tour with a walk down Session Road. The city's commercial artery, Session Road is where you get your first bite of the charm and serendipity of Baguio. Apart from a smattering of one-of-a-kind curio shops and fashion boutiques, Session also features an interesting array of culinary delights. Restaurants specializing in Chinese, Italian American, Japanese and Mongolian can be readily found along Session. From Session, take a cab to any of Baguio's prime attractions. Go horseback riding at Wright Park. Climb up the 252 steps to the Lourdes Grotto. Play a round of golf at John Hay. Cook a tasty chopsuey with the freshest of veggies from the Baguio City Market. Visit the Mansion. Stock up on strawberries. Or tuck under a warm blanket with the crackling of burning wood lulling you to sleep. For night owls, Baguio is alive with pulsating music and warm spirits. There are a number of bars and discos that swing until the wee hours of the morning.



Mansion gate


Fresh strawberries from Baguio

Baguio City has long been one of the country’s favorite romantic hideaways, and couples will surely enjoy spending time together exploring its natural beauty.


Sunflower is very famous during Panagbenga Festival


Marcos high-way (Agoo)


Some people consider Baguio as one of the best honeymoon sites in the Philippines because of its cold climate.

The people in Baguio are also very nice. I can attest to that because I had my on-the-job training in Baguio Country Club when I was in college and frequently go there because my eldest brother and his family stayed there for quite some years and some of my relatives live there.

I'm looking forward to witness again the Panagbenga Festival on the first week of February. It's a must-see event. You wanna join me?


Baguio Cathedral


Baguio Botanical Garden


Thanks Bridgette for some of the pictures.

Labels:


glitter-graphics.com